Writing with a disability

I have written many manuscripts ,but never submitted any of my manuscripts to publishers. You may be asking why wouldn’t you? It is quite simple… well I’m to critical about my writing. I know I am not the best writer in the world. I have problems with English grammar. It is because of my cerebral palsy. If you are wondering what that is , I’ll give you a link below. Cerebral means it has to do with your brain.  The way I could explain my disability is when I try to learn basic ,like for instance basic English, or other subjects, my brain basically “refuses” that information.  You could teach me so many times, the same information and my brain don’t want anything to do with that information. You might think that sounds frustrating.. well it really is frustrating.

It was frustrating in college because none of my classmates knew about my disability and they wouldn’t always say my writing was horrible, well not always ,but sometimes they would. I’m not trying to say just because I have a disability everyone should be sympathetic. I don’t want that , I want people to know how hard I worked to write a certain poem or story. It should show in the work.  Despite my disability, I know I’m a very strong writer (even if I’m critical) because my poetry professor has told me many times that he believes in me. Everyone that I showed my work to,  says I’m  a good writer, so everyone verified that they believing in me. I’m glad I have support because they know I have a disability and despite that disability I still write. For anyone who has a disability, please don’t let it defeat you.

The link on the bottom is about Cerebral Palsy. Just to note , when you have Cerebral Palsy it don’t mean that the person can’t walk. I can walk ,but have some difficulties.
Cerebral Palsy

Also here is a wonderful book by author John W. Quinn. He wrote this book that talked about his life,accomplishments, with mild Cerebral Palsy. Worth reading.
John W. Quinn,

Leave a Reply

